Monday, August 8, 2022
Home Cricket Archives India Tour Of New Zealand 2020: Ind NZ T20 Series, Talking Points,...

India Tour Of New Zealand 2020: Ind NZ T20 Series, Talking Points, Fixtures And Results, Stats, And More

Ind NZ: After the World Cup debacle, the Indian team toured New Zealand to kick start 2020. Following the major heartbreak at the World Cup 2019 quarter-final, the Indian team was keen on exacting revenge against the Kiwis who ended their World Cup 2019 dream. The Indian team arrived in New Zealand to play 5 T20Is, 3 ODIs, and 2 Tests. Therefore, let’s dig into the details regarding the Ind NZ series, talking points, fixtures and results, stats, and more

Note: In This Article, We Will Be Covering The T20 Series Between India and New Zealand

Ind NZ: Review And Talking Points

Unlike the Indian teams of the past, Virat Kohli’s side was at the top of the ICC rankings at the start of the year (in 2018) before they were to tour outside Asia – having lost just two Tests in the past three years. The team had the opportunity to etch their name in history as the greatest Indian team ever had they continued the dream run overseas – the litmus test for teams from the sub-continent. With India completing the current cycle after the tour to New Zealand, it’s a good time to analyse and see how near, or far, was Shastri from the truth during the Ind NZ series

In the recently concluded Ind NZ series, most of the batsmen struggled and it was a pattern evident throughout the cycle which started in 2018. The years 2018 and 2019 have been some of the best for bowling in the past few decades with batting averages across the world plummeting below 30. The home teams averaged 25.86 in these overseas tours which again highlights how tough it has been for the batsmen.

Also Visit

IPL Schedule

IPL Preview

Fixtures & Results

Let’s see the fixtures and results for the recently concluded Ind NZ series

  • 1st T20

Day & Date: Friday, January 24, 2020

Venue: Eden Park

Match Start: 7.50 PM (IST)

Result: India Won By 6 Wickets

Man Of Match: Shreyas Iyer 58 (29)


New Zealand
203/5 (20)
204/4 (19)
Colin Munro 59 (42)Shreyas Iyer 58 (29)
Ross Taylor 54 (27)K.L Rahul 56 (27)
Kane Williamson 51 (26)Virat Kohli 45 (32)
India Won By 6 Wickets
  • 2nd T20

Day & Date: Sunday, January 26, 2020

Venue: Eden Park

Match Start: 7.50 PM (IST)

Result: India Won By 7 Wickets

Man Of Match: KL Rahul 57 (50)


New Zealand
132/5 (20)
135/3 (17.3)
Martin Guptill 33 (20)K.L Rahul 57 (50)
Tim Seifer 33 (26)Shreyas 44 (33)
Colin Munro 26 (25)Virat Kohli 11 (13)
India Won By 7 Wickets
  • 3rd T20

Day & Date: Wednesday, January 29, 2020

Venue: Seddon Park

Match Start: 7.50 PM (IST)

Result: India Won In Super Over

Man Of Match: Rohit Sharma 65 (40)


179/5 (20)
New Zealand
179/6 (20)
Rohit Sharma 65 (40)Kane Williamson 96 (48)
Virat Kohli 38 (27)Martin Guptill 31 (21)
K.L Rahul 27 (19)Ross Taylor 17 (10)
India Won In Super Over
  • 4th T20

Day & Date: Friday, January 31, 2020

Venue: Sky Stadium

Match Start: 7.50 PM (IST)

Result: India Won In Super Over

Man Of Match: Shardul Thakur ( 2/33)


165/8 (20)
New Zealand
165/7 (20)
Manish Pandey 50 (36)Colin Munro 65 (47)
K. L Rahul 39 (26)Tim Seifert 57 (49)
Shardul Thakur 20 (15)Ross Taylor 24 (18)
India Won In Super Over
  • 5th T20

Day & Date: Sunday, 2nd February 2020

Venue: Bay Oval

Match Start: 7.50 PM (IST)

Result: India Won By 7 Runs

Man Of Match: Jasprit Bumrah


163/3 (20)
New Zealand
156/9 (20)
Rohit Sharma 60 (41)Ross Taylor 53 (47)
K.L Rahul 45 (33)Tim Seifert 50 (30)
Shreyas Iyer 33 (31)Ish Sodhi 16 (10)
India Won By 7 Runs


Let’s see the final stats for the recently concluded Ind NZ series

  • Man Of The Series: K.L Rahul
  • Most Runs: K.L Rahul (5 Matches – 224 Runs)
  • Highest Scores: Kane Williamson (95 Of 48 Balls)
  • Most Wickets: Shardul Thakur ( 5 Matches – 8 Wickets)
  • Best Bowling Figures: Jasprit Bumrah (4-12-1-3)

Ind NZ: Full Squads


Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant (wk), K.L Rahul (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Navdeep Saini

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Martin Guptill, Tom Bruce, Colin De Grandhomme, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Daryl Mitchell, Tim Seifert (wk), Hamish Benett, Ish Sodhi, Tim Souhtee, Blair Tickner


The Indian team made a flying start to the series by winning the T20 series 5-0. The Men In Blue handed a complete whitewash to the Kiwis. Under the captaincy of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, many young guns flourished in this T20 series against New Zealand.

India Won The T20 Series 5-0.

Stay tuned to our website for more such in-depth reviews about every series.

For more such interesting updates and predictions, follow us on:




Anurag Gade
Every time a bell rings, an angel gets his wings.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

ind vs aus

India Tour Of Australia 2020: Ind Vs Aus 3rd Test Match...

IND Vs AUS 3rd Test: With two tests already down and over in this series, the two teams will now lock horns for the...